Study Program Q+ received initial funding from Gutenberg Lehrkolleg for a five year conceptualization and trial period. In the meantime, the JGU Senate gave final approval to Q+ on July 5th, 2019, already one and a half years before the end of the trial period. Starting in 2021, Q+ will be a permanent part of JGU’s higher education programs.

The legal and organizational framework for Q+’s operation is formed by the study and examination regulations that became effective in August 2019: „Ordnung der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz für das Studium und die Prüfungen im Studienprogramm Q+“ (in German).

These rules also define the duties of the Q+ Steering Committee, which together with the Q+ Office is responsible for quality assurance and further development of the program, among other tasks. In addition, the steering committee appoints a selection commission which decides on the admission of students. The Q+ Office handles daily business, communication, and coordinates all administrative processes, including management of courses and exams.

The minutes of Q+ Steering Committee meetings can be viewed here (JGU login; in German).


Q+ Office

Dr. Doris LindnerProject LeadStudy Program Q+
Dr. Christian KnöpplerProject StaffStudy Program Q+
Julia Reichenpfader, M.A. Project StaffStudy Program Q+

Chair Q+ Steering Committee

NameFunction Faculty
Univ.-Prof. Helen May-SimeraPrincipal Investigator AG May-SimeraFB 10 - Institute of Molecular Physiology

Vice-Chair Q+ Steering Committee

Name FunctionFaculty
Univ.-Prof. Gerhard KruipProfessor for Social EthicsFB 01 - Faculty of Catholic Theology

Members Q+ Steering Commitee

Univ.-Prof. Mareike AltgassenProfessor for Developmental PsychologyFB 02 - Department of Psychology
Univ.-Prof. Pol BeseniusProfessor for Macromolecular ChemistryFB 09 - Department of Chemistry
Mara CoelleStudent Biomedicine (M.Sc.)FB 04 - University Medical Center
Univ.-Prof. Reyn van EwijkChair of Statistics and EconometricsFB 03 - Gutenberg School of Management and Economics
Kathrin FuchsStudent Comparative Literature/ European Literature (B.A.)FB 05 - Gutenberg-Institute for World Literature
Dr. Jürgen HippchenManaging Director Department of Research and TeachingFB 04 - University Medical Center
Dr. Frank ObenlandAcademic Councilor American StudiesFB 05 - Department of English and Linguistics
Univ.-Prof. Christopher MiltenbergerProfessor for Music TheoryMainz School of Music
Univ.-Prof. Christine WaldeProfessor for Latin StudiesFB 07 - Institute for Ancient Studies
Univ.-Prof. Ysette WeissProfessor for Didactics of Mathematics FB 08 - Institute for Mathematics
Dr. Christa WelschofDirector of NaT-LabFB 09 - NaT-Lab
Dr. Verena von WiczlinskiAcademic Councilor Department of HistoryFB 07 - Department of History
Adam Will Student English/ French (B.Ed.)FB 05 - Department of English and Linguistics

The student representatives in the steering commitee are elected by the Q+ student body and can be reached for questions and suggestions: